Experts

We have a number of academics who are happy to speak to the media and offer comment on their areas of expertise. Some of our available experts are listed below.

To get in touch with an expert please contact the press office


Mohammad AlramahiDr Mohammad Alramahi, Principal Lecturer in Law

Areas of expertise: international energy law, oil, gas, dispute resolutions, international commercial arbitration, commercial contracts
E: mohammad.alramahi@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/alramahi


Jon SilvermanProfessor Jon Silverman, Professor of Media and Criminal Justice

Areas of expertise: crime, justice, policing, international war crimes tribunals, post-conflict African states
E: jon.silverman@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/jon-silverman

Noha Mellor

Professor Noha Mellor, Professor of Media

Areas of expertise:
Arab media, political Islam
E: noha.mellor@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/noha-mellor


Carlota LarreaDr Carlota Larrea, Head of School of Culture and Communications

Areas of expertise: Cinema, Film distribution and exhibition, The creative industries, Contemporary Spain
E: carlota.larrea@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/carlota-larrea


Oldfashioned TV setAnthony Greenbank, Senior Lecturer

Areas of expertise: Entertainment Television, Student employability in media industries
E: anthony.greenbank@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/anthony-greenbank


Terry LeeTerry Lee, Senior Tutor in Radio & Audio

Area of expertise:
UK Community Radio
E: terry.lee@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/terry-lee


Dr Mark Margaretten, Lecturer in Journalism

Areas of expertise: American political elections, Comparative British and US parliamentary processes, Politicians use of social media, Authenticity of MP's speech

E: mark.margaretten@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/mark-margaretten


Alexis WeedonAlexis Weedon, Professor of Living Traditions

Areas of expertise: Publishing, UNESCO Chair in new media forms of the book, Book Publishing, New media or ebook publishing, digital reading, transmedia storytelling, book apps, ipad books, book statistics,History of book publishing, Romance & sexuality 1920s 1930s film and novels, Depictions of Queens of England, UNESCO world book day, UNESCO preserving Intangible cultural heritage

E: alexis.weedon@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/alexis-weedon


Paul RowinskiDr Paul Rowinski, Senior Lecturer in Journalism

Areas of expertise:

Euroscepticism and its articulation in national societies and their media, Hybridization and the interface with mainstream and social media, Post-Truth and Fake News, Brexit and media coverage, Populist politicians and the Press, Prejudice, xenophobia and hate speech in the media, Self-regulation in the Press

E: paul.rowinski@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/paul-rowinski


Anastasia GiannakopoulouDr Anastasia Giannakopoulou, Lecturer in Psychology

Area of expertise:
Language Learning and Literacy, child psychology and learning psychology

E: anastasia.giannakopoulou@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/anastasia-giannakopoulou


Ashley BennettDr Ashley Bennett, Senior Lecturer

Areas of expertise: Alternative Medicine (namely: acupuncture & Chinese Medicine) Depression, Anxiety, Medically Unexplained Symptoms and Somatisation (Physical expression of mental health problems)

E: ashley.bennett@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/ashley-bennett



Mieka HarrisMieka Harris, Senior Lecturer in Teacher Education

Areas of expertise:
Mathematics education, learning in alternative environments

E: mieka.harris@beds.ac.uk
Profile: beds.ac.uk/mieka-harris


Professor Uvanney Maylor, Professor of Education

Uvanney Maylor
Areas of expertise:
Black and cultural education, diversity and equality
E: uvanney.maylor@beds.ac.uk 
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/education-and-english-language/staff/uvanney-maylor/

Professor Gurch Randhawa, Director of Institute for Public Health and Professor of Diversity in Public Health

Gurch Randhawa
Areas of expertise:
Public health, BAME health, organ donation, air pollution, ethnicity and health
E: gurch.randhawa@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/ihr/about/staff-and-students/gurch-randhawa/

Dr Chris Papadopoulos, Principal Lecturer in Public Health

Chris Papadopoulos
Areas of expertise: Autism, social care, care homes, 
E: chris.papadopoulos@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/hcp/staff/chris-papadopoulos/

Dr Violet Cuffy, Senior Lecturer in Tourism & Events Management

Violet Cuffy
Areas of expertise: 
Tourism, cultural events, carnivals and festivals, heritage tourism, community tourism/events
E: violet.cuffy@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/businessschool/our-staff/staff5/violet-cuffy/

Dr Joseph Adonu, Senior Lecturer in Social Psychology

Joseph AdonuAreas of expertise:
Youth behaviours, anti social behaviour, relationship/friendship behavioural changes, social behaviours
E: joseph.adonu@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/psychology/staff/joseph-adonu/

Dr Sarah Wadd, Director of the Substance Misuse and Ageing Research Team (SMART)

Sarah Wadd
Areas of Expertise:
Substance misuse and abuse, substance use by elderly and the over 50s, social substance use
E: sarah.wadd@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/iasr/about/staff/sarah-wadd/

Alison Hadley OBE, Director of the Teenage Pregnancy Knowledge Exchange

Alison Hadley
Areas of Expertise:
Teen pregnancy, sexual health education, underage pregnancy prevention, teenage pregnancy support and resources
E: alison.hadley@beds.ac.uk 
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/ihr/about/staff-and-students/alison-hadley/

Dr Angel Chater, Reader in Health Psychology & Behaviour Change

Angel Chater
Areas of expertise:
Exercise and psychology/mental health, health psychology, weight management/obesity and behaviours, behavioural science
E: angel.chater@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/sspa/staff/angel-chater/

Peter Duquemin, Senior Lecturer in Airline & Airport Management

Peter Duquemin
Areas of expertise:
Flight industry, airline economy, airport trends, airline management and development
E: peter.duquemin@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/businessschool/our-staff/staff5/peter-duquemin/

Dr Lana Burroughs, Academic Portfolio Lead for Social Work

Lana Burroughs
Areas of expertise: 
Adoption and foster care, diversity and anti-discriminatory practise, safeguarding children and young people, trans-racial care placement, asylum seeking children in care
E: lana.burroughs@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/appliedsocialstudies/staff/lana-burroughs/

Dr Tahmina Ajmal, Senior Lecturer in Engineering

Dr Tahmina Ajmal
Areas of expertise:
Water engineering, engineering within developing countries, low-cost engineering resources, resource efficiency, sustainable technology solutions
E: tahmina.ajmal@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/computing/staff/tahminaajmal

Dr Seyefar Clement, Lecturer in Accounting & Finance

Seyefar Clement
Areas of expertise:
Corporate finance, business finance, SME finance solutions, strategic finance, fraud management, financial markets
E: seyefar.clement@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/businessschool/our-staff/staff4/seyefar-clement/

Dr Tina Salter, Senior Lecturer in Applied Social Sciences

Tina Salter
Areas of expertise:
Youth community work, Coaching & Mentoring, Childhood studies and adolescents  
E: tina.salter@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/appliedsocialstudies/staff/tina-salter/

Dr Neil Hopkins, Senior Lecturer in Education

Neil Hopkins
Areas of Expertise:
Student engagement, Philosophy of education, Vocational education, Democracy and education, Curriculum studies
E: neil.hopkins@beds.ac.uk
Profile: www.beds.ac.uk/howtoapply/departments/teacher-education/staff/neil-hopkins/



telephone

University switchboard
During office hours
(Monday-Friday 08:30-17:00)
+44 (0)1234 400 400

Outside office hours
(Campus Watch)
+44 (0)1582 74 39 89

email

Admissions
admission@beds.ac.uk

International office
international@beds.ac.uk

Student support
sid@beds.ac.uk

Registration
help@beds.ac.uk

Exchanges
erasmus@beds.ac.uk

Our Tweets: @uniofbeds