University calendar dates

Academic year 2019 - 2020



Calendar dates

Please note: May Day Bank Holiday will take place on Friday 8 May 2020 as part of the VE day commemorations.

October start - Undergraduate Provision

Key dates Event
Monday, 30 September 2019 - Friday 13 December 2019 Teaching Weeks 1-11
Monday, 16 December 2019 - Friday 27 December 2019 Christmas break

Thursday, 2 January 2020 - Friday 3 January 2020

(Monday, 30th December 2019 and Tuesday, 31st December 2019 - concessionary days and Wednesday, 1 January 2020 - Bank Holiday)

Individual/guided study week
Monday, 6 January 2020 - Friday, 17 January 2020 Teaching Weeks 12-13
Monday, 20 January 2020 - Friday, 24 January 2020 Mid-point break and Exam week
Monday, 27 January 2020 - Friday, 3 April 2020 Teaching Weeks 14-23
Monday, 6 April 2020 - Friday, 24 April 2020 Easter break
Monday, 20 April 2020 – Friday, 24 April 2020 Individual/guided study week and repeat exams
Monday 27 April 2020 – Friday 1 May 2020
Monday, 27 April 2020 – Friday, 1 May 2020 Teaching Week 24
Monday, 4 May 2020 – Friday, 15 May 2020 (Friday, 8 May 2020 – Bank Holiday) Revision weeks
Monday, 18 May 2020 – Friday, 29 May 2020 (Monday, 25 May 2020 – Bank Holiday) Exam weeks

Semesterisation

Semesterisation is a pattern of delivery where the academic year is split into three distinct 'semesters' which are 15 weeks in duration. A course on the semester pattern of delivery would typically be taught over two semesters.

Key dates Event Week
Monday, 30 September 2019 – Friday, 24 January 2020 Semester 1 1-15
Monday, 16 December 2019 – Friday, 27 December 2019 Christmas break  
Monday, 20 January 2020 – Friday, 24 January 2020 Exam week  
Monday, 27 January 2020 – Friday 31 January 2020 Inter-semester break  
Monday, 3 February 2020 – Friday, 29 May 2020 (includes
Easter break Monday, 6 April 2020 – Friday, 17 April 2020 - Friday, 8 May and Monday, 25 May 2020 – Bank Holidays
Semester 2 1-15
Tuesday, 26 May 2020 – Friday, 29 May 2020 Exam week  
Monday, 1 June 2020 – Friday, 5 June 2020 Inter-semester break  
Monday, 8 June 2020 – Friday, 18 September 2020 Semester 3 1-15
Monday, 14 September 2020 – Friday 18 September 2020 Exam week  
Monday, 21 September 2020 – Friday, 25 September 2020 Inter-semester break  

Block Teaching - Postgraduate Provision

Block delivery allows for 6 entry points onto selected postgraduate courses each academic year.

A postgraduate course consists of 6 blocks; each block is 6 weeks in duration and equates to 30 M level credits.

Key dates Event Week
Monday, 30 September 2019– Friday, 8 November 2019 Block 1 1-6
Monday, 11 November 2019 – Friday, 15 November 2019
Exam week  
Monday, 18 November 2019 – Friday, 22 November 2019 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
Monday, 25 November 2019 – Friday, 17 January 2020 Block 2 1-6
Monday, 16 December 2019 – Friday, 27 December 2019 Christmas Break  
Thursday, 2 January 2020 Return to study  
Monday, 20 January 2020 – Friday, 24 January 2020 Exam week  
Monday, 27 January 2020 – Friday, 31 January 2020 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
Monday, 3 February 2020 – Friday, 13 March 2020 Block 3 1-6
Monday, 16 March 2020 – Friday, 20 March 2020
Exam week  
Monday, 23 March 2020 – Friday, 27 March 2020 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  

Monday, 30 March 2020 – Friday, 22 May 2020

(includes Easter break and Friday, 8 May 2020 – Bank Holiday)

Block 4 1-6
Monday, 6 April 2020 – Friday 17 April 2020 Easter break  

Tuesday, 26 May 2020 – Friday, 29 May 2020

(Monday, 25 May 2020 – Bank Holiday)

Exam week  
Monday, 1 June 2020 – Friday, 5 June 2020 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
Monday, 8 June 2020 – Friday, 17 July 2020 Block 5 1-6
Monday, 20 July 2020 – Friday, 24 July 2020
Exam week  
Monday, 27 July 2020 – Friday, 31 July 2020 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
Monday, 3 August 2020 – Friday, 11 September 2020 Block 6 1-6
Monday, 14 September 2020 – Friday, 18 September 2020
Exam week  
Monday, 21 September 2020 – Friday, 25 September 2020 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  

February start - Undergraduate Provision (Condensed courses)

Key dates Event
Monday, 3 February 2020 – Friday 3 April 2020 Teaching Weeks 1-9
Monday, 6 April 2020 – Friday, 17 April 2020
Easter break
Monday, 20 April 2020 –Friday, 24 April 2020 Individual/guided study and Revision week

Tuesday, 27 April 2020 – Friday, 15 May 2020

(Friday, 8 May 2020 - Bank Holiday)

Teaching Weeks 10-12
Monday, 18 May 2020 – Friday, 22 May 2020 Exam week and Mid-point break
Tuesday, 26 May 2020 – Friday, 31 July 2020 (Monday, 25 May 2020 – Bank Holiday) Teaching weeks 13-22
Monday, 3 August 2020 – Friday, 7 August 2020 Individual/guided study week and Revision and repeat exams
Monday, 10 August 2020 – Friday, 21 August 2020 Teaching weeks 23-24
Tuesday, 24 August 2020 – Friday, 28 August 2020
Exam week

 


Academic Year 2018-2019

October start - Undergraduate Provision

Key dates Event
1 October 2018 - 14 December 2018 Teaching Weeks 1-11
17 December 2018 - 28 December 2018 Christmas break
2 January 2019 - 4 January 2019 Individual/guided study week
(31 December 2018 - concessionary day; 1 January 2019 - Bank holiday)  
7 January 2019 - 18 January 2019 Teaching Weeks 12-13
21 January 2019 - 25 January 2019 Mid-point break and exam week
28 January 2019 - 12 April 2019 Teaching Weeks 14-24
15 April 2019 - 26 April 2019 Easter break
29 April 2019 - 3 May 2019 Individual/guided study week and repeat exams
(6 May 2019 - Bank holiday)  
7 May 2019  - 17 May 2019 Revision weeks
20 May 2019 - 31 May 2019 Exam weeks

February start - Undergraduate Provision (Condensed courses)

Key dates Event
4 February 2019 - 12 April 2019 Teaching Weeks 1-10
15 April 2019 - 26 April 2019 Easter break
29 April 2019 - 3 May 2019 Individual/guided study week/revision week
6 May 2019 - Bank holiday  
7 May 2019 - 24 May 2019 Teaching Weeks 11-13
27 May 2019 - Bank holiday  
28 May 2019 - 31 May 2019 Exam week and mid-point break
3 June 2019 - 2 August 2019 Teaching weeks 14 - 22
5 August 2019 - 9 August 2019 Individual/guided study week/revision week/repeat examinations
12 August 2019 - 23 August 2019 Teaching weeks 23-24
26 August 2019 - Bank holiday  
27 August 2019 - 30 August 2019 Exam week

Semesterisation

Semesterisation is a pattern of delivery where the academic year is split into three distinct 'semesters' which are 15 weeks in duration.

A course on the semester system would typically be delivered over two semesters.

Key dates Event Week
1 October 2018 -  25 January 2019 Semester 1 1-15
17 December 2018 - 28 December 2018 Christmas break  
21 January 2019 - 25 January 2019 Exam week  
28 January 2019 - 1 February 2019 Inter-semester break  
4 February 2019 - 31 May 2019 Semester 2 1-15
( 27 May 2019 – Bank holiday)    
28 May 2019 - 31 May 2019 Exam week  
3 June 2019 - 7 June 2019 Inter-semester break  
10 June 2019 - 20 September 2019 Semester 3 1-15
16 September 2019 - 20 September 2019 Exam week  
23 September 2019 - 27 September 2019 Inter-semester break  

Block Teaching - Postgraduate Provision

Block delivery allows for 6 entry points onto selected postgraduate courses each academic year.

A postgraduate course consists of 6 blocks; each block is 6 weeks in duration and equates to 30 M level credits.

Key dates Event Week
1 October 2018 - 9 November 2018 Block 1 1-6
12 November 2018 - 16 November 2018 Exam week  
19 November 2018 - 23 November 2018 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
17 December 2018 - 28 December 2018 Christmas Break  
26 November 2018 - 19 January 2019 Block 2 1-6
2 January 2019 Return to study  
21 January 2019 - 25 January 2019 Exam week  
28 January 2019 - 1 February 2019 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
4 February 2019 -  15 March 2019 Block 3 1-6
18 March 2019 - 22 March 2019 Exam week  
25 March 2019 - 29 March 2019 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
1 April 2019 -  24 May 2019 Block 4 1-6
15 April 2019 - 26 April 2019 Easter break  
27 May 2019 - Bank holiday    
28 May 2019 - 31 May 2019 Exam week  
3 June 2019 - 7 June 2019 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
10 June 2019 - 19 July 2019 Block 5 1-6
22 July 2019 - 26 July 2019 Exam week  
29 July 2019 - 2 August 2019 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  
5 August 2019 - 13 September 2019 Block 6 1-6
16 September 2019 - 20 September 2019 Exam week  
23 September 2019 - 27 September 2019 Induction/Registration/VIVAs for completing students  

Contact Us

By telephone
During office hours
(Monday-Friday 08:30-17:00)
+44 (0)1234 400 400

Outside office hours
(Campus Watch)
+44 (0)1582 74 39 89

By email
admission@beds.ac.uk
(admissions)
international@beds.ac.uk 
(international)
sid@beds.ac.uk (student support)
help@beds.ac.uk (registration)
erasmus@beds.ac.uk (exchanges)

By post
University of Bedfordshire
University Square
Luton
Bedfordshire
UK, LU1 3JU