IASR Staff

Director of the Institute of Applied Social Research: Professor Emily Munro

Safer Young Lives Research Centre (SYLRC)

Director of the Safer Young Lives Research Centre: Dr Helen Beckett

Tilda Goldberg Centre for Social Work and Social Care Research

Director of the Tilda Goldberg Centre: Professor Emily Munro

Vauxhall Centre for the Study of Crime

Director of the Vauxhall Centre: Professor John Pitts

Associate Members

  • Dr Ian Bridgeman, Senior Lecturer in Applied Social Studies
  • Dr Fiona Factor, Principal Lecturer in Applied Social Studies
  • Dr Jaya Ghosh, Lecturer in Criminology
  • Dr Gary Manders, Senior Lecturer in Applied Social Studies
  • Dr Seamus Murphy, Senior Lecturer in Criminology
  • Dr Suzella Palmer, Senior Lecturer in Applied Social Studies
  • Dr Sireita Mullings, Lecturer in Applied Social Studies

IASR Researchers

Postgraduate Research leads

  • Dr Tim Bateman Programme Director for Children and Young People's Services, and Reader in Youth Justice
  • Dr Lisa Bostock Ethics Co-ordinator and Senior Research Fellow
  • Dr Isabelle Brodie PGR Co-ordinator, Senior Research Fellow
  • Dr Gail Simon Programme Director for Professional Doctorate in Systemic Practice, Principal Lecturer in Systemic Practice

Making Research Count

  • Dr Jo Neale Senior Research Fellow and Making Research Count Coordinator
  • Gemma Wilson Making Research Count Events Organiser

Visiting Professors

  • John Coleman
  • Adrienne Cooper


  • Hemlata Naranbhai Research Administrator (IASR)
  • Gayanthi Hapuarachchi Contextual Safeguarding Admin Coordinator
  • Sayma Khanom Research Administrator
  • Meegan Scipio Research Administrator


University switchboard
During office hours
(Monday-Friday 08:30-17:00)
+44 (0)1234 400 400

Outside office hours
(Campus Watch)
+44 (0)1582 74 39 89



International office

Student support



Our Tweets: @uniofbeds